Tuesday, October 4, 2016

U.S. Minor Outlying Islands


The United States Minor Outlying Islands, a statistical designation defined by the International Organization for Standardization's ISO 3166-1 code, consist of eight United States insular areas in the Pacific Ocean (Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Midway Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, and Wake Island) and one in the Caribbean Sea (Navassa Island).
Among them, Palmyra Atoll is the only incorporated territory. As of 2008, none of the islands have any permanent residents. The only human population consists of temporarily stationed scientific and military personnel. The 2000 census counted 315 people on Johnston Atoll and 94 people on Wake Island.
There has been no modern indigenous population, except at the 1940 census. In 1936 a colonization program began to settle Americans on Baker, Howland, and Jarvis, but all three islands were evacuated in 1942 as a result of World War II.
To know more about the country click here. 


One Of The Perfect Cover :
My friend L. Ming send me this great cover. He is one of the joy of my collection. And, He is one of my very nice friend too. I become so happy after get this cover. This is my First cover from U.S. MINOR OUTLYING ISLAND 
This one is so special for my collection. The post mark is so clear. I like to see the clear postmark on the cover. I liked those stamp too. Thank you Ming for send me this very nice cover. 

No comments:

Post a Comment